Next to Normal

Next to Normal
February 13 – March 15, 2015

Music by Tom Kitt,
Book and Lyrics by Brian Yorkey
Directed by Nick Sugar

Winner of the 2010 Pulitzer Prize for drama, Next to Normal is a contemporary musical that explores how one suburban household copes with love and crisis. With electrifying music and lyrics, Next to Normal shows how far two parents will go to keep themselves sane and their family’s world intact. Ben Brantley from the New York Times called it “A brave, breathtaking new musical. It is something much more than a feel-good musical: it is a feel-everything musical.”

Take a sneak peak at Next to Normal, courtesy Luck eProductions, LLC

Reviews – Critics

“…sensitively directed by the Henry Award-winning Nick Sugar, who again shows his expertise in telling a demanding story.” –Sonya Ellingboe, Littleton Independent

“… the third version of Next to Normal I’ve seen, and it’s by far the most revelatory. One of the things that troubled me before was the heaviness of the score.” –Juliet Wittman, Westword

With an outstanding cast whose voices are clear as bells in their solos, and cacaphonic in the musical mash-ups portending trouble, this production of “Next To Normal” is sharp and jarring.” –Claire Martin, The Denver Post

Reviews – Patrons

“Saw it last night. Awesome show- the cast was great. Really hoping to see it more time.” –Melissa Lombard Bell

“Saw it opening night and was in awe of the story and the talent. Going back a second time with my girls.” — Sandra Basilin Hosler
“Saw it. Loved it. Great cast, score wonderful and story line, real. Really.” — Paula Borton

“Awesome show, so much talent in this cast. Don’t miss the chance to see them.” — Mindie Knowles

“Love this show!!!” — Felicia Hamilton Bredenberg

Get to know the Next to Normal Cast, courtesy Michael Ensminger

Winner of Westword’s Best of 2015:bod winner logo

Best Direction of a Musical – Nick Sugar, Next to Normal

Best Actress in a Musical – Margie Lamb, Next to Normal


The Band

Donna Kolpan Debreceni Keyboards
Austin Hein Bass
Kevin E. Johnson Cello
David Paul Violin
Scott Alan Smith Guitars
Tag Worley Drums/Percussion


Production Crew

Director Nick Sugar
Music Director Donna Debreceni
Technical Director Mike Haas
Set Designer Tina Anderson
Costume Designer Linda Morken
Sound Designer Curt Behm
Lighting Designer Seth Alison
Props Designer Becky Toma
Prod. Stage Manager Steven Neale
Sound Operator Cara Wallingford
Run Crew Melissa Sipes