SIGN UP HERE: Town Hall Arts Center – The Fantasticks Audition

Sunday June 27, 2021
11am to 4pm
(Invited Callbacks on Monday, June 28, 6:00 p.m.)

Town Hall Arts Center is committed to expanding diversity, equality, inclusion, and belonging in the casting of our shows. Performers of all race, ethnicity, disability, and gender identities are encouraged to submit. If you have any questions or concerns or have any necessary accommodations, please contact THAC Programming Director mkepler@townhallartscenter.org.

Rehearsal and performance schedule are listed below. All actors are expected to be available for all rehearsals and performances. This production is utilizing a different rehearsal schedule than typical THAC schedules so please read carefully.

The Fantasticks
Book and Lyrics by Tom Jones
Music by Harvey Schmidt
 
Directed by: Billie McBride
Production Stage Manager: Jane Stewart
 
AUDITION INFORMATION
Casting 8 actors aged 18+. All roles are paid. No Equity/AEA contracts available

REQUIREMENTS
16-bars of a song appropriate to the show. Accompanist will be provided.
A 1-minute comedic monologue appropriate for the show.
Current headshot and resume.
 
CASTING INFORMATION  
The Narrator (El Gallo) A rakish, handsome, sophisticated gallant and narrator of the show. He is warm, cordial, and inviting to the audience, but has his own darker moments. He aids the performers in orchestrating the story.
Gender: Any Age: 30 to 50
Vocal range top: G4
Vocal range bottom: Ab2  

The Girl (Luisa) A button-maker’s young and pretty daughter, she is a romantic idealist who falls in love with Matt. She is naive, yet honest and tender.
Gender: Female Age: 18 to 25
Vocal range top: B5
Vocal range bottom: B3  

The Boy (Matt) An innocent, young man who is searching for love and adventure. A bright guy, but naive and even foolish at times, approaching situations with a false bravado.
Gender: Male Age: 18 to 25
Vocal range top: G4
Vocal range bottom: A2  

The Boy’s Father (Hucklebee) A former boisterous navy man and meticulous gardener who fakes a fight with Bellomy in hopes of getting their children to fall in love.
Gender: Male Age: 40 to 60
Vocal range top: F#4
Vocal range bottom: A2  

The Girl’s Father (Bellomy) A fastidious button-maker and also a picky gardener who fakes a fight with Hucklebee in hopes of getting their children together.
Gender: Male Age: 40 to 60
Vocal range top: F#4  

The Actor (Henry) An aging, over-the-top Thespian who specializes in reciting Shakespeare, he is a commedia clown; his world is the stage and he knows no other reality.
Gender: Any
Age: 50 to 70  

The Man Who Dies (Mortimer) Henry’s goofy sidekick and another former actor who specializes in stage deaths. A commedia clown, his world is the stage and he does not live in reality.
Gender: Any
Age: 30 to 50  

The Mute A speechless presence who watches, acts as the wall, and deals with props; the “invisible” stage assistant. Should be able to easily assist in the story or fade into the background unnoticed.
Gender: Any 
Age: 20 to 50

2021/2022 Season Production #1 – The Fantasticks
Performance Dates and Time
24 performances, 3 performance holds, 1 benefit performance, 6 streaming performances
 
  1.      Friday September 17, 2021 – 7:30pm
  2.      Saturday September 18, 2021 – 7:30pm
  3.      Sunday September 19, 2021 – 2:00pm
 
  4.      Wednesday September 22, 2021 – 7:30pm
  5.      Thursday September 23, 2021 – 7:30pm
  6.      Friday September 24, 2021 – 7:30pm
  7.      Saturday September 25, 2021 – 7:30pm
  8.      Sunday September 26, 2021 – 2:00pm
  9.      Sunday September 26, 2021 – 6:30pm
 
  10.  Wednesday September 29, 2021 – 7:30pm
  11.  Thursday September 30, 2021 – 7:30pm
  12.  Friday October 1, 2021 – 7:30pm
  13.  Saturday October 2, 2021 – 2:00pm – HOLD
  14.  Saturday October 2, 2021 – 7:30pm
  15.  Sunday October 3, 2021 – 2:00pm
 
  16.  Monday October 4, 2021 – 7:30 – DAF Benefit
  17.  Wednesday October 6, 2021 – 7:30pm
  18.  Thursday October 7, 2021 – 7:30pm
  19.  Friday October 8, 2021 – 7:30pm – Added Stream
  20.  Saturday October 9, 2021 – 2:00pm
  21.  Saturday October 9, 2021 – 7:30pm – Added Stream
  22.  Sunday October 10, 2021 – 2:00pm – Added Stream
 
  23.  Thursday October 14, 2021 – 7:30pm
  24.  Friday October 15, 2021 – 7:30pm – Added Stream
  25.  Saturday October 16, 2021 – 2:00pm – HOLD
  26.  Saturday October 16, 2021 – 7:30pm – Added Stream
  27.  Sunday October 17, 2021 – 2:00pm – Added Stream
  28. Sunday October 17, 2021 – 6:30pm – HOLD

REHEARSAL SCHEDULE
Tuesday, August 24 – 11am to 5pm
Wednesday, August 25 – 6pm to 9:30pm
Thursday, August 26 – 6pm to 9:30pm
Saturday, August 28 – 11am to 5pm
Sunday, August 29 – 6pm to 10pm
Monday through Thursday, August 30 – September 2 – 6pm to 10pm
Saturday, September 4 – 11am to 5pm
Sunday, September 5 – 6pm to 10pm
Monday through Thursday, September 6 – September 9 – 6pm to 10pm

TECH
 Saturday, September 11 – 10am to 5pm
 Sunday, September 12 – 5pm to 10pm
 Monday through Wednesday, September 13 – 15 – 6pm to 11pm
 Thursday, September 16 – Preview